Home > re-launch > DRIVING MR. LIBESKIND | PART ONE

DRIVING MR. LIBESKIND | PART ONE

PAST IS PROLOGUE

It began innocently enough, just a simple drive to a museum and then to the airport. But that was only the itinerary; it by no means describes the implications of that day in May 2001, Nor where I would find myself almost ten years later…and thankfully a few pounds lighter – but I digress.

    

(l-R Jamie Crawley |April 2010 – Austin, Texas; Jamie Crawley and Daniel Libeskind | May 2001 – Kimbell Museum in Fort Worth Texas; )

I picked Mr. Libeskind up at his hotel early the morning of his flight and proceeded to drive to Fort Worth from downtown Dallas. 

                The drive between Dallas and Fort Worth at that hour of the morning tends to be a good hour of moderate traffic.  It is punctuated by the many smaller communities that comprise the Metroplex – the stockade that is Fort Dallas. Admittedly, I thought I would find myself at a loss, but the conversation steadily grew to a frenetic pace. Stanley Meisler in an article for Smithsonian later described ”An interview with Libeskind is more like a conversation, and his good humor and mischievous smile are so infectious that you cannot help liking him and wanting to be liked by him.” I wanted to be liked by this passenger of mine.  He asked about my experiences and relayed tales of his own defiance of the establishment and desire to push himself into the void of practice.  recalling later in the aforementioned interview, “Ever since I began working, I have had an abhorrence of conventional, pristine architectural offices.” At some point, Libeskind predicted, I would find myself with a similar restlessness.  We toured the Kimbell, he made his flight and I thought more of what he said.

Intermundium Development Program (IDP)

I left practice at the end of the year, becoming a full-time faculty member at an accredited School of Architecture. “Libeskind founded a school called the Architecture Intermundium in Milan, Italy. The institute was … an alternative to traditional school or to the traditional way to work in an office. That’s the meaning of the word ‘intermundium,’ a word that I discovered in Coleridge. The School was between two worlds, neither the world of practice nor of academia. (Smithsonian, 3/2003)” This forever academic and paper architect was slowly building a portfolio of built work.  Mr. Libeskind’s Jewish Museum would officially open with exhibits in September just as other fateful events would unfold in New York.  And that day in my Ford Explorer, deep in the heart of Texas — unaware of future events, Libeskind sat attentively and described a passion of design and humanism, of teaching, and of challenging accepted notions of architecture. Time would flow in two directions from this event horizon.  inadvertently I would establish a similar intermundium – a world of academia and practice of my own design eventually leading to the re-launch of an architecture studio.

 But that day I was merely driving Mr. Libeskind, the future architect of Ground Zero prognosticating my own ground zero.

ha|architecture

                This I realize is my own ground zero, this will be different…ha|architecture does not just ‘think outside the box,’ we deconstruct it with every intention of rebuilding and sharing our experience through dialogue.

My name is Jamie Crawley, the new Director of Architecture for hamilton & associates (ha|architecture.) I am a registered Architect in Texas, LEED Accredited Professional by the United States Green Building Council and a former Visiting Assistant Professor of Architecture beginning the re-launch of an architecture studio. We are located in Pflugerville a Central Texas city with its own rich history and only minutes north of downtown Austin. This Blog is intended to foster a dialogue on subjects ranging from contemporary modernism, architectural criticism, historic preservation, sustainable design, design culture and social media as well as a glimpse inside the studio via our own sketches, resource selections, projects big and small. Our practice is built on a desire to connect with our clients and the places where we are fortunate to visit and work. This will be different…thanks Daniel.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. 06/06/2010 at 19:48

Leave a Reply

